Garth Brooks to Receive NMPA’s Songwriter Icon Award


Garth Brooks to Receive NMPA’s Songwriter Icon Award

The National Music Publishers’ Association (NMPA) will honor Garth Brooks with its Songwriter Icon Award at the organization’s first-ever virtual meeting in June.

The NMPA established the Songwriter Icon Award in 2006 to recognize outstanding songwriters for personal achievement and who personify the vision of NMPA and the goals of its members. Past recipients include Richard Marx, Diane Warren, Kara DioGuardi, Amy Lee, Neil Sedaka, Jimmy Webb, Billy Joel, Alicia Keys, Ryan Tedder, Jon Bon Jovi, Pharrell and more.

The award is typically given at NMPA’s annual industry gathering in New York City the evening prior to the Songwriters Hall of Fame gala. This year’s event will be virtual due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Garth’s songwriting credits include “If Tomorrow Never Comes,” “Much Too Young (To Feel This Damn Old),” “The River,” “Unanswered Prayers,” “Standing Outside the Fire,” “The Thunder Rolls” and more.

In recent months, Garth has earned the Billboard Icon Award, Gershwin Prize for Popular Song and the inaugural George H.W. Bush Points of Light Award for Caring and Compassion.

photo by Tammie Arroyo,


Concert Calendar